NYU Spatial Data Repository

Earthquake Fault Zones: Humboldt County, California, 2015

This polygon shapefile depicts the Alquist-Priolo Earthquake Fault Zones and Fault Traces as shown on the official Alquist-Priolo Earthquake Fault Zones Map of the Arcata North United States Geological Survey quadrangle map. The dataset is comprised of polygons and lines that form regulatory zone boundaries (Alquist-Priolo Earthquake Fault Zones) and Fault Traces of areas where surface fault rupture has previously occurred, or where local topographic, geological and geotechnical conditions indicate a potential for permanent ground displacements, such that mitigation by avoidance would be required (as stated in Public Resources Code Section 2621.5). The Alquist-Priolo Earthquake Fault Zoning Act's main purpose is to prevent the construction of buildings used for human occupancy on the surface Trace of active Faults. Before a new project is permitted, Cities and Counties require a geologic investigation to demonstrate that proposed buildings will not be constructed on active Faults.The Humboldt County Planning and Building Department is responsible for protecting the public health, safety and welfare via building permit review and inspections consistent with California model codes as well as planning and development review and approval consistent with the county's General Plan. This Department oversees the Advance Planning Division, which is responsible for the Humboldt County's Geographic Information System (GIS) that is utilized by other County Departments; many federal, state and local agencies; and the general public. This coverage can be used for basic applications such as viewing, querying, and map output production, or to provide a basemap to support graphical overlays and analyses of geospatial data.
Humboldt County Planning and Building Department
Humboldt County (Calif.)
Administrative and political divisions
Held by:
Preservation record:
Variable Value
Click object on map to see data values