NYU Spatial Data Repository

Census County Divisions and Minor Civil Divisions, 1995 - Alaska

This datalayer displays the Census County Divisions and Minor Civil Divisions of Alaska. In Alaska, which has no counties, the statistically equivalent entities are census areas, city and boroughs (as in Juneau City and Borough), a municipality (Anchorage), and organized boroughs. Census areas are delineated cooperatively for data presentation purposes by the state of Alaska and the U.S. Census Bureau. Census County Divisions (CCDs) are county subdivisions that were delineated by the U.S. Census Bureau, in cooperation with state and local government officials for data presentation purposes. CCDs have been established in 21 states where there are no legally established minor civil divisions (MCDs), where the MCDs do not have governmental or administrative purposes, where the boundaries of the MCDs are ambiguous or change frequently, and/or where the MCDs generally are not known to the public. CCDs have no legal functions and are not governmental units. The boundaries of CCDs usually are delineated to follow visible features and coincide with census tracts where applicable. (In a few instances, two CCDs may constitute a single census tract.) The name of each CCD is based on a place, county, or well-known local name that identifies its location. Census Subareas are statistical subdivisions of boroughs, census areas, city and boroughs, and the municipality (entities that are statistically equivalent to counties) in Alaska. Census subareas are delineated cooperatively by the state of Alaska and the U.S. Census Bureau. They were firstused for data presentation purposes in conjunction with the 1980 census. Minor civil divisions (MCDs) are the primary governmental or administrative divisions of a county in many states (parish in Louisiana). MCDs represent many different kinds of legal entities with a wide variety of governmental and/or administrative functions. NOTE: The U.S. Census Bureau does not recognize MCDs for the state of Alaska.
Boundaries, Census, and Administrative divisions
Held by:
Attribute Value
Click on map to inspect values