NYU Spatial Data Repository

City Boundaries: Santa Clara County, California, 2015

This polygon shapefile depicts administrative boundaries for cities over which the County of Santa Clara, California holds authority: Campbell, Cupertino, Gilroy, Los Altos, Los Altos Hills, Los Gatos, Milpitas, Monte Sereno, Morgan Hill, Mountain View, Palo Alto, San Jose, Santa Clara, Saratoga and Sunnyvale. This coverage does not include unincorporated areas. These boundaries have been approved by the Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) of Santa Clara County. LAFCO was created in 1963 to encourage orderly formation of local government agencies, preserve agricultural land resources and discourage urban sprawl. LAFCO is are responsible for coordinating logical and timely changes in local governmental boundaries, conducting special studies that review ways to reorganize, simplify, and streamline governmental structure and preparing a sphere of influence for each city and special district within each county. This layer is part of a collection of GIS data for Santa Clara County, California.The Santa Clara County Planning Office is part of the Department of Planning and Development. Their primary function is to plan and regulate land use and development within the unincorporated portions of Santa Clara County. Other responsibilities include policy analysis, GIS services, research and technical assistance relating to land use, housing, environmental protection, historic preservation and demographics. The Geographic Information Services Department has taken on all those activities related to GIS data and GIS process and procedures that cross organizational boundaries. Santa Clara County encompasses 15 cities and approximately 1.7 million people. This coverage can be used for basic applications such as viewing, querying, and map output production, or to provide a basemap to support graphical overlays and analyses of geospatial data.
Santa Clara County (Calif.). Planning Office
Santa Clara County (Calif.), Campbell (Calif.), Cupertino (Calif.), Gilroy (Calif.), Los Altos (Calif.), Los Altos Hills (Calif.), Los Gatos (Calif.), Milpitas (Calif.), Monte Sereno (Calif.), Morgan Hill (Calif.), Mountain View (Calif.), Palo Alto (Calif.), San Jose (Calif.), Santa Clara (Calif.), Saratoga (Calif.), and Sunnyvale (Calif.)
Administrative and political divisions, Cities and towns, Boundaries, Society, and Planning and Cadastral
Held by:
Preservation record:
Attribute Value
Click on map to inspect values